Easy Cake-Crumb Truffles.

Golden balls?

I couldn’t resist showing you these little beauties. Now I know that this is meant to be a bakery blog. And I know that these truffles are not baked. But to be fair – they are related to my baking sessions in quite a big way. Because I stumbled across this recipe while playing detective. Having had a series of unfortunate incidents where my Bundt cakes have suddenly developed all the adhesive properties of a pot of superglue, I’ve spent quite a lot of time investigating ideas and suggestions about how to use the broken bits of cake. Some of my attempts have been more successful than others. For instance – I don’t think I will be baking a cake-crumb treacle tart again any time soon. While tasting the tart for appraisal purposes I was lost for words. The flavour was great. Almost exactly what I was hoping for. But the whole thing set like toffee as it cooled and cemented my teeth. I was literally left unable to open my mouth. I felt like one of those poor tortured souls who have their jaws wired together to keep them from over-eating. And that’s a torment I wouldn’t wish on anybody. So thank the heavens for these truffles. Honestly. They are worth their weight in gold. Each one is a mouthful of chocolate packed full of delumptiousness that will leave you speechless in a good way.

easy-cake-crumb-truffles-4
The Truff. The Whole Truff. And Nothing But The Truff.

Waste not. Want more.

When the curse of the Bundt strikes it can be a struggle to find recipes to salvage something good and tasty from the devastation. For every stuck cake there is a downhearted cook. And when you had hoped to thrill your friends and family with a stunningly attractive cake it can be something of a surprise and/or embarrassment to present them with a platter full of scraps instead. If you are lucky there might be time to throw together a trifle or something with the remnants. But generally there is nothing you can do but start afresh on making an alternative and leave the crumbs for later. So what I tend to do is bag half of the stuck cake up in large chunks to do the whole trifle thing. Then I blitz the other half down to crumbs in the food processor and measure them out into 100g portions. I leave them in the freezer for myself as delightful little parcels to be used at a later date. This recipe is so tasty and versatile I’m sometimes disappointed when I run out. You can use any flavour of plain cake. By which I mean so long as there is nothing like frosting, fillings or jam included you are good to go. So you don’t necessarily have to wait for a kitchen catastrophe. You could just use leftover cake. I have heard such a thing exists. Though it’s not often that I have much in the way of that around here.

easy-cake-crumb-truffles2
A Sleuth Of Brown Bares?

That’s rich, coming from you.

These truffles are bursting with flavour. The plain chocolate makes them intense and VERY satisfying. While the cake crumbs keep them moist and succulent. The dusting of cocoa at the end adds an extra bitter-sweet kick that will leave even the most self-indulgent chocoholic in raptures. They make a perfect after dinner treat. Or better still. Make a batch of these and pop them in a pretty gift box as an unexpected but delicious present the next time you are visiting friends or family. They will love you for it. Having said that. They are best eaten in small quantities. Certainly not the kind of chocolates you throw down your neck at speed while watching the telly. And a friend of mine who suffers from migraines swears that they set her off something awful. So if you are – shall we say – a bit on the delicate side when it comes to plain or dark chocolate. You can make them just the same using milk chocolate and coat them in chocolate shavings or vermicelli. Alternatively you could use white chocolate and finish them off with desiccated coconut. Just remember to dip them in their respective coatings before you put them in the fridge to set. And you can add any number of ingredients into the basic mix to increase the variety too. This truffle recipe is so adaptable you will be coming up with your own versions in next to no time. See. I told you they were versatile.

easy-cake-crumb-truffles-5
Opening Your Present.

Some kit that helps a bit.

Being a creature of habit I would usually end each of my blogs with a paragraph I like to call “a tin to bake it in”. To give you an idea as to how you can best recreate the recipe for yourself. But seeing as these truffles are neither baked nor made in a tin I had to come up with something slightly different. So today. Please allow me to present to you the first in what will probably be a very occasional series. And to kick off the inaugural “some kit that helps a bit” I thought it would be a good idea to show you my spring-loaded ice cream scoops. I don’t know how I ever managed without them. I use them for all kinds of things. Cupcakes and Bundt cakes. Frostings and fillings. Even biscuits and cookies. They make it so much easier to deposit equal amounts of mixture exactly where you need them to be. Gone are the days of batter-splatter and uneven portions. I have them in three different sizes – 15ml, 30ml and 60ml. They are not too costly and you can either buy them individually or as a set of three from places such as eBay or Amazon. And the fact that they are spring-loaded makes dropping little dollops of this truffle mixture much less of a sticky chocolate-fingered ordeal. If you do have a go at this recipe don’t forget to shuffle the ingredients around. To truffle shuffle the ingredients around, if you will. They are such a great way to use up leftover cake crumbs. Just don’t be surprised if they make a truffle hog out of you. Now here’s that recipe… Enjoy.

ice-cream-scoops
Ice Cream Scoops.

EASY CAKE-CRUMB TRUFFLES.

INGREDIENTS.

  • 200g Plain Chocolate.
  • 50g Unsalted Butter.
  • 50g Icing Sugar (sifted).
  • 100g Cake Crumbs.
  • Cocoa Powder (sifted, for coating).

    easy-cake-crumb-truffles-3
    Easy Cake-Crumb Truffles.

METHOD.

  • Melt together the chocolate and butter in the microwave. Stir together until smooth. Set aside to cool for at least a couple of minutes.
  • Stir in the icing sugar using a rubber spatula or some such until fully incorporated. Be sure that there are no sneaky little lumps.
  • Add the cake crumbs and mix until fully combined.
  • Place the bowl in the fridge for 20 minutes but remember to give the mixture a quick stir every 5 minutes so that the mixture doesn’t start to set too much.
  • Line a baking tray with greaseproof paper.
  • Roll the mixture into balls. As a rough guide each truffle should be made from about a tablespoon of mixture. For easiness sake I just use a 15ml spring-loaded ice cream scoop.
  • Place the tray of truffles back in the fridge to set for a further 20 minutes. They are much easier to roll around in the cocoa powder if they are hardened. You should have about 16 or 17 in total.
  • Have the cocoa powder ready in a medium-sized bowl. I can’t say exactly how much. I usually use about 100g. You need a good amount to make sure each truffle is properly coated. There will be lots left over but you can reuse it another time.
  • Place about four of the cold truffles in the bowl with the cocoa powder at a time, swirling them around using a spoon until each one is completely covered.
  • Pick them up with your fingers or a fork and gently tap them to knock off any excess cocoa.
  • Place each truffle in a fancy mini cupcake or petit fours case.
Leave a Reply

