Nordic Ware 70th Anniversary Bournvita Bundt.

Blast from the past?

I have an old book in my liberry called the Cadbury’s Chocolate Cookbook. There is nothing much of interest to be found. It’s really just a lot of recipes for things like fairy cakes and fudge. There was however one thing that intrigued me. Bournvita. It seems that back in the olden days, alongside your Ovaltine and the like, Cadbury’s had their own version of a chocolate malt powder. Bournvita. Now here is the surprising thing. They only stopped selling Bournvita in the UK in 2008. I know, right. It’s no wonder it was discontinued. Nobody I know under the age of 60 has ever heard of it. And then something spooky happened. The very next time I was out shopping I found a bargain store that was selling some. It seems that Bournvita is still a big thing overseas. They go mad for it in places as far removed as Eastern Europe, North America and Africa. Anyhoo. Long story short, I bought some.

Bournvita Bundt 2
Malt-o Bene?

Food for thought.

I have a self-imposed rule when I am baking. I rarely allow myself to bake the same thing twice. It keeps me from getting bored. If you made the same cake three times a week for the next year, how long would it be before the enjoyment factor fell away? Weighing out the same ingredients. Mixing them together. Putting them in the oven. A dull routine that would see you padding mechanically around the kitchen like a robot. Who would visit that hell upon themselves? Not me, that’s for certain. So when I find an ingredient that I’m not familiar with it really gets the creative juices flowing. I like the challenge. And this Bournvita really got me thinking. Because malt and me don’t exactly see eye to eye.

Bournvita 2
Oldie But Goldie.

Malt Teaser.

I’ve had trouble with malt in the past. There are two types of Bundt cake recipe that I tend to avoid. Milk cake and malt cake. They stick. From bitter experience, I have found that malt cake sticks to a cake tin like a shy kid sticks to its Mam’s legs. I still wanted that challenge but I was a little bit worried. Because this time it wasn’t just personal, I really wanted to put the new Nordic Ware 70th Anniversary Crown Bundt tin through its paces as well. I figured that if I could master a malt cake in the Crown tin, then it really would be something joyful. And besides that, the thought of taking something old and bringing it bang up to date was quite appealing. I decided to tinker about with one of my own recipes, a fresh cream Bundt cake. The cake turned out so well. The texture was dense and firm, while managing to be very, very moist. The cake tasted lovely too, although I must grumble slightly that the Bournvita was a tiny bit understated. Next time I bake this cake I will probably try it with Horlicks instead to ramp up the malt flavour.

Bournvita Bundt 3
Up Close And Not Just Personal.

A tin to bake it in.

Once again, I can’t sing the praises of this Bundt tin enough. The Nordic Ware Crown Bundt tin is a little belter. It is easy to prepare with homemade cake paste. The cake rises evenly. The non-stick coating is a marvel. The cake came out in one glorious piece after the 10 minute resting time. And the clean up really is about the easiest of any of the Bundt tins that I’ve baked with. A tin that looks good AND cooks good? The best of both worlds. Or to put it another way, you can have your cake and Bournv-eat it. Now here’s that recipe… Enjoy.

Bournvita Bundt 5
Inside And Out.

BOURNVITA BUNDT.

INGREDIENTS.

  • 300ml Double Cream.
  • 50ml Whole Milk.
  • 100g Bournvita.
  • 350g Plain Flour.
  • 30g Cocoa Powder.
  • ½ tsp Bicarb.
  • ¼ tsp Salt.
  • 440g Granulated Sugar.
  • 220g Margarine.
  • 4 Eggs.
  • 2 tsp Vanilla Extract.

    Bournvita Bundt 4
    Bournvita Bundt.

METHOD.

  • Position a shelf in the centre of the oven. Preheat the oven to Gas Mark 4. Grease and flour a 10 cup Bundt tin. I used the Nordic Ware 70th Anniversary Crown Bundt tin.
  • Heat the double cream in the microwave until scalding, but do not allow to boil.
  • Add the Bournvita and whisk together just until smooth.
  • Add the whole milk and whisk to combine. Set the mixture aside to cool to room temperature.
  • Sift together the flour, cocoa powder, bicarb and salt. Set aside.
  • Cream together the sugar and margarine until light and fluffy.
  • Add the eggs one at a time, beating well and scraping down the bowl after each addition.
  • Add the vanilla extract and beat to combine.
  • Fold in the flour and cream mixtures alternately until just combined, taking care not to over mix. (Flour, cream, flour, cream and ending with flour).
  • Pour into the prepared tin and push the mixture up the sides of the tin slightly. This will help the cake rise evenly during baking.
  • Bake for 1 hour 10 minutes or until the cake feels firm when gently pressed with a finger. The cake should be pulling away from the edges of the cake tin slightly.
  • You may need to loosely cover the cake with tin foil towards the end of the cooking time to prevent the cake from becoming too brown.
  • Cool in the tin for 10 minutes before turning out onto a cooling rack to cool completely.
Leave a Reply

