Not The 70th Anniversary Bundt.

A matter of time.

I was hoping to start off my new blog with the new Nordic Ware 70th Anniversary Crown Bundt tin. Suffice to say, it hasn’t quite arrived in this country just yet. I ordered mine in March as soon as I saw it advertised. Annoyingly, the stockist then decided that it would only be available as pre-order, and that although they would be taking my lovely dosh straight away, the Bundt tin would not actually be finding it’s way to me until at least the middle of May. That crashing you just heard? It was probably the sound of my hopes being dashed. Oh well.

Advocaat Bundt 2
Advocaat Bundt Cake.

On with the show.

I can’t be sitting around just waiting. May seems like ages away. In the meantime I better get started with a few cake recipes that I have waiting in the wings, so to speak. I might have mentioned that I’m a sucker for a good Bundt tin. It would be wrong of me not to start with perhaps my favourite Bundt cake recipe in perhaps my favourite Bundt tin.

Wilton Geometric 2
Wilton Geometric Interior.

Go with the flo.

Advocaat. I know what you are thinking. That luminous, custard yellow liqueur that you only ever have in the house when Aunty Marge buys you an ill advised bottle for Chrimbo. Bear with me. This recipe is absolutely golden. It’s been taste tested by all my best guinea pigs, none of whom liked Advocaat, and all of whom decided it really wasn’t what they expected. It was delicious. It’s based on a recipe from a book called Baking For All Occasions by Flo Braker. I’ve just simplified it a little. I think the book is still available to buy in this country from the major suppliers, although I was lucky enough to find my copy in a charity shop. Joyful.

Flo Braker
Baking For All Occasions. Flo Braker.

A tin to bake it in.

I fell in love with this tin as soon as I saw it. It’s a beaut. I’m afraid I can’t tell you anything about it except that it is a Wilton Bundt tin – long retired. I was fortunate enough to find it in a second hand shop on my travels. I’ve spent many an hour trawling the net to find out it’s name, to no avail. I call it my Wilton Geometric. When I first started collecting Bundt tins I was a Nordic Ware man through and through. I’ve developed a little soft spot for Wilton now too. Though I must say, my favourite Bundt tin is usually the next one I intend to buy. Now here’s that recipe… Enjoy.

Wilton Geometric 1
Wilton Geometric.

ADVOCAAT BUNDT CAKE.

INGREDIENTS.

  • 390g Plain Flour.
  • 2 tsp Baking Powder.
  • ¼ tsp Salt.
  • ¼ tsp Ground Nutmeg.
  • 220g Margarine.
  • 400g Granulated sugar.
  • 3 Large Eggs.
  • 1 tsp Vanilla Extract.
  • 240ml Advocaat Liqueur.
  • 100g Granulated Sugar.
  • 60ml Water.
  • 15ml Vanilla Extract.

    Advocaat Bundt
    Finished Advocaat Bundt Cake.

METHOD.

  • Place a shelf in the centre of the oven. Preheat the oven to Gas Mark 4. Grease and flour a 10 cup Bundt tin.
  • Sift together the flour, baking powder, salt and nutmeg. Set aside.
  • Cream together the margarine and sugar until light and fluffy.
  • Add the eggs one at a time, beating well and scraping down the bowl after each addition.
  • Add the vanilla extract and beat to combine.
  • Fold in the flour mixture and the Advocaat alternately until just combined, taking care not to over mix. (Flour, Advocaat, flour, Advocaat and ending with flour).
  • Spoon the cake mixture into the prepared tin and level the surface. Tip the tin so that the cake mixture coats up the sides of the tin by about an inch.
  • Bake for 60 minutes or until the cake is pulling away from the edges of the cake tin and a skewer inserted into the centre of the cake comes out clean.
  • Leave to cool in the tin for 10 minutes then turn out onto a cooling rack to cool completely.
  • To make the optional glaze: When the cake comes out of the oven, place the 100g granulated sugar and 60ml of water in a small saucepan. Bring to the boil over a high heat. Boil for one minute then remove from the heat. Stir in the vanilla extract.
  • When you turn the cake out onto the cooling rack, brush the glaze all over the hot cake until all of the glaze has been used and soaked into the cake. Leave the cake to cool completely.
  • I  must say that I never bother with the glaze. A good dusting of icing sugar is really all this cake needs.
Leave a Reply

