Chocolate Overdose Cake.

You are pulling my leg, surely?

Is too much chocolate even a thing? I would have never have believed it until today, but apparently it is. I know, I am as stunned as you are. I will totally understand if you need to take a minute… The cake I’m going to share with you today has divided opinion among my guinea pigs. There were one or two little problems in the making of the cake that I will explain later, but it seems the biggest thing that is wrong with this cake is that the chocolate flavour was too strong for some. *Cough*.  *Lightweights*. *Cough*.

Luxury Chocolate Bundt 1
Luxury Chocolate Bundt Cake.

A year in provenance.

I think I may have mentioned before about giving credit where it is due, but it is worth repeating. I will try to let you know where a recipe has come from, if I can. Sometimes that won’t be possible. I’m not sure how this recipe came to me. Sometimes I will write a recipe down from the internet. Sometimes my nearest and dearest will hand me bits of paper with recipes on. I will change them around a little to suit my taste and re-write them so they are easier to follow. I think this is one of those. Luxury Chocolate Bundt Cake. This cake is luxurious, hence the name. It is fudgy and very, very rich. It has a clag factor that would not be out of place in a good cheesecake. It’s not for the faint of heart, that’s for sure. I just thought it best to warn you.

Perennial 4
Wilton Dimensions Perennial Interior.

Cakey breaky heart.

This cake is not just good. It’s cracking. Literally in my case. Now here are those mistakes I mentioned earlier. It clearly said in the recipe that a 12 cup Bundt tin was necessary. I chose a tin that was too small. The Wilton Dimensions Perennial. It is a beautiful Bundt tin. It clearly says 10 cups on the label. I just wish I had noticed before the cake was in the oven. Added to that was the fact that there is a WHOLE TABLESPOON of baking powder in there. The cake rose higher than heaven. Because of that, it also took much longer to bake than it was supposed to. The cake that had risen above the tin was starting to singe around the edges. Then when the cake rested before it was turned out, it shrank back and cracked all the way around. I had to turn it out straight onto a serving plate to keep it from completely falling to bits. For all of these reasons I chose to leave the cake plain. There is no point throwing good money after bad. But apart from that…

Luxury Chocolate Bundt 3
Is That Some Kind Of Crack?

A tin to bake it in.

I honestly think this cake would have worked perfectly with two small changes. The Bundt tin I would use is the 10 to 15 cup Nordic Ware Anniversary Bundt. Secondly, I think the raising agents need some adjustment. The next time I bake it I intend to use just one teaspoon of baking powder and half a teaspoon of bicarb. And there will be a next time. This cake is too, too good for there not to be. Now here’s that recipe… Enjoy.

Nordic Ware Anniversary Bundt
Nordic Ware Anniversary Bundt.

LUXURY CHOCOLATE BUNDT.

* This is enough mixture for a 12 cup Bundt tin.

INGREDIENTS.

  • 180g Plain Chocolate (melted and cooled slightly).
  • 250g Plain Flour.
  • 30g Cocoa powder.
  • 1 tbsp Baking Powder.
  • ½ tsp Salt.
  • 5 Large Eggs.
  • 1 tsp Vanilla Extract.
  • 90g Greek Yoghurt.
  • 350g Margarine.
  • 350g Soft Dark Brown Sugar.
  • 180g Milk Chocolate.
  • 10ml Vegetable Oil.
  • 20g Plain Chocolate (finely grated).
  • 20g Milk Chocolate (finely grated).

    Luxury Chocolate Bundt 2
    Luxury Chocolate Bundt Cake.

METHOD.

  • Position a shelf in the centre of the oven. Preheat the oven to Gas Mark 4. Grease and flour a 12 cup Bundt tin.
  • Whisk together the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder and salt. Set aside.
  • Whisk together the eggs, vanilla and yoghurt. Set aside.
  • Cream together the margarine and sugar until light and fluffy.
  • Fold in the flour and egg mixtures alternately until just combined, taking care not to over mix. (Flour, egg, flour, egg and ending with flour).
  • Fold in the melted chocolate until evenly mixed and with no streaks, scraping down the bowl as necessary.
  • Spoon into the prepared tin. Level the surface.
  • Bake for 50 minutes or until a skewer inserted into the centre of the cake comes out clean.
  • Cool in the tin for 15 minutes before turning out onto a cooling rack to cool completely.
  • To make the chocolate glaze, melt the milk chocolate and vegetable oil together in the microwave, stirring until smooth.
  • Pour the melted milk chocolate over the top of the cooled cake.
  • Working quickly, scatter the grated chocolate over the top of the chocolate glaze.
  • Allow to set slightly before serving.
Leave a Reply

